Experience meets meets

Henning Blume Henning BlumeFrankfurt Foundation Quality of Medicines, Germany

Henning Blume studied pharmacy at the Goethe University in Frankfurt. After receiving his PhD and completion of postdoctoral research he was appointed Extraordinary Professor at Frankfurt University.

Professor Blume was head of the Central Laboratory of German Pharmacists for 15 years and started own business activities by establishing the Clinical Research Organisation (CRO) SocraTec R&D, Ltd, in 1998.

His fields of research include biopharmaceutical and pharmacokinetic investigations, with particular focus on the characterisation of bioavailability and bioequivalence of drug products, and the development of therapy-optimised medicinal products containing already established active ingredients. He published more than 230 research papers.

Henning Blume is member of important international scientific associations on the fields of biopharmaceutics and clinical pharmacology and served as appointed expert in numerous scientific committees, e.g. the Bioavailability Commission of the German Authorities, the German Pharmacopeia Commission, the Expert Network at the European Medicines Agency (EMA) as well as International Scientific Advisory Boards of the US-FDA.  For more than a decade he was president of the Section for Official Laboratories and Medicines Control Services of the International Pharmaceutical Federation (FIP), and chairman of the FIP Special Interest Group on Bioavailability and Bioequivalence. Moreover he was elected chairman of the European Network on Bioavailability and Biopharmaceutics from 2006 until 2021 and started the Global Bioequivalence Harmonisation Initiative (GBHI) as conference co-chair for the first four international conferences.

Henning Blume received the EUFEPS Ouroboros Award, the German Generics Award and the Honorary Award of the German Pain Award as well as the Elsa-Ullmann Medal of the German Pharmaceutical Society (DPhG). He is Honorary Member of the Argentinian Diabetes Association and was awarded as „Doctor honoris causa“ by the Semmelweis University, Budapest/Hungary. 2022 he received the EUFEPS Presidential Distinction Award.